Billabong Pipe Masters and Maui Pro Competition Recap

The day began with Heat 4 in the Round of 16 for the Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask, 11-time WSL Champion Kelly Slater (USA) earned a combined 13.67, the high score in the Round of 16 against Jack Robinson (AUS), advancing to the Quarterfinals despite suffering an injury.

“I hurt myself mountain biking last week, then I did something to my heel three nights ago at Pipeline,” said Slater, after Heat 4 in the Round of 16,  “I’m having a little trouble walking, but I can surf okay, I didn’t notice it too much when I surfed.”

Defending WSL Champion Italo Ferreira (BRA), two-time WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), and Jeremy Flores (FRA) also advanced to the Quarterfinals after winning their heats in the Round of 16.

In Quarterfinal 1, Florence scored a combined 17.67 (out of a possible 20), the highest score of the Quarterfinal, after earning a 9.07 and 8.60 on two rides against Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), winner of the Injury Wildcard surf-off. Defending champion Italo Ferreira won Quarterfinal 3 against Jeremy Flores (FRA) despite suffering an injury after hitting the reef on one of his rides. Slater and Medina also won their heats to advance to the Semifinals, with match-ups between the top two surfers in the United States and Brazil.

“It feels good to make it through, I look forward to surfing against Italo in the semifinals, which is going to be a good heat,” said Medina, after winning Heat 4 in the Quarterfinals, “it’s heat-by-heat, can’t wait for the next one.”

After the men’s Quarterfinal, it was time for the women’s competition, the first to ever take place at Banzai Pipeline during the Women’s CT. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) won Heat 4 of the Quarterfinal against Sage Erickson (USA) with a combined score of 8.60 and advanced to the Semifinal to Moore.

“I’m so stoked to have this opportunity and I just want to represent women’s surfing the best I can,” said Weston-Webb, after winning Heat 4 in the Quarterfinal. “I’m really excited to get more time out there and get some amazing waves.”

In Semifinal 1, Wright won with a combined score of 10.50 against fellow Australian Sally Fitzgibbons. During Semifinal 2, Moore earned a combined score 16.60, including a 9.60 (out of a possible 10) on one of her rides against Weston-Webb.

“I’m just really proud to be competing in my hometown,” said Moore, after Semifinal 2. “I just feel all the support here, especially from my family watching at home on the other side of the island.”

In the men’s competition, Florence scored a combined 18.16, with a 9.23 on his first wave and 8.93 on his second in Semifinal 1 against Slater. Medina defeated Ferreira in Semifinal 2.

The Road to The WSL Finals
The Road to The WSL Finals has officially started in Hawaii. For the first time, the men’s and women’s World Titles will be decided in a single-day event, ‘The WSL Finals’. The top five women and top five men following the CT season will battle for their respective titles in a new surf-off format at one of the world’s best waves. The WSL Finals will take place at Lower Trestles, California from September 8 – 17, 2021.

The opening leg of the Championship Tour will resume in January at the Sunset Open from January 19 – 28, 2021.

Maui Pro presented by ROXY Final Results:
1 – 
Tyler Wright (AUS) 8.34
2 – Carissa Moore (HAW) 7.23

Maui Pro presented by ROXY Semifinal Results:
SF 1:
 Tyler Wright (AUS) 10.50 DEF. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 2.87
SF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 16.60 DEF. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 2.47

Maui Pro presented by ROXY Quarterfinal Results:
QF 1: 
Tyler Wright (AUS) 18.33 DEF. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 12.40
QF 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 14.37 DEF. Lakey Peterson (USA) 11.30
QF 3: Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.04 DEF. Malia Manuel (HAW) 11.27
QF 4: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 8.60 DEF. Sage Erickson (USA) 6.30

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Final Results:
1 – 
John John Florence (HAW) 11.77
2 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.10

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Semifinal Results:
SF 1: 
John John Florence (HAW) 18.16 DEF. Kelly Slater (USA) INT
SF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 12.60 DEF. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 8.57

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Quarterfinal Results:
QF 1:
 John John Florence (HAW) 17.67 DEF. Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 10.17
QF 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 6.23 DEF. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 1.90
QF 3: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 13.34 DEF. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 10.53
QF 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 9.13 vs. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 7.06

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Round of 16 Results:
Heat 1
: Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 10.33 DEF.  Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 6.73
Heat 2: John John Florence (HAW) 8.50 DEF. Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 5.73
Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.67 DEF. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 1.63
Heat 4: Kelly Slater (USA) 13.67 DEF. Jack Robinson (AUS) 11.67
Heat 5: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 13.00 DEF. Ryan Callinan (AUS) 5.27
Heat 6: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 8.80 DEF. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 4.83
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.56 DEF. Jack Freestone (AUS) 6.67
Heat 8: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 12.33 DEF. Jadson Andre (BRA) 11.54

For more information, please visit