KRUI, South Sumatra, Indonesia (Sunday, June 11, 2023) – The 2023 Krui Pro World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 5,000 and Pro Junior competitions will open tomorrow and hold a competition window through Sunday, June 18, 2023. The QS 5,000 will be contested by the best up-and-coming surfers from the Asia and Australia/Oceania regions as a dual sanctioned event, whereas the Pro Junior competition is for Asia Region competitors only. As the first 2023/24 Qualifying Series event of the year in the region, a massive field has gathered with a promising forecast on tap for the long left-hander of Ujung Bocur. It will be one to watch this week.

The competition venue, Ujung Bocur, offers long walls, deep tubes, and plenty of opportunities for excellent surfing, and is one of the most perfect waves on the QS tour. This year’s event has attracted both new and returning competitors, and will prove to be a highlight to start the QS season.

2022 Krui Pro Men’s runner-up Billy Stairmand (NZL) will be looking to go one better this year, but Billy will have his work cut out for him against a stacked field of the region’s best surfers working their way up the 128 competitor draw.

The Asia Region’s Daika Tanaka (JPN), Kian Martin (SWE), Bronson Meydi (INA), Joh Azuchi (JPN), and 2017 Krui Pro winner Keijiro Nishi (JPN) will be ones to watch, as well as Morgan Cibilic (AUS), TeKehuKehu Butler (NZL), and last year’s semi-finalist Jarvis Earle (AUS) from the Australia/Oceania Region.

In the QS Women’s race, 2022 Krui Pro semifinalist Minami Nonaka (JPN) has her sights set on a win this year, but will need to best a field of over 70 women including Asia’s number 1 ranked Nanaho Tsuzuki (JPN) as well as Australia’s Ellie Harrison (AUS) and Philippa Anderson (AUS). Unfortunately, New Zealand’s Paige Hareb (NZL) had to withdraw due to an injury.

In the Asia Region’s Men’s Pro Junior, Tenshi Iwami (JPN) is looking to make his mark on both the QS and the Pro Junior. Young Indonesian Rajo Supatra from Lakey Beach, Sumbawa will be looking to impress against a field of both Japanese and Indonesian competitors including Bronson Meydi, Varun Tandjung, and Westen Hirst.

Last year’s Krui Pro Junior Women’s champion Sai Maniwa (JPN) is back to defend her title, with top seeds Anon Matsuoka (JPN), Nanaho Tsuzuki (JPN) and Ziggy Mackenzie (AUS) among her challengers.

The first call will be on Monday, June 12 at 7:00 a.m. WIB. Tune in to for competition updates.

Watch LIVE
The Krui Pro will be broadcast LIVE on, the WSL’s YouTube channel, and the free WSL app.