G-LAND, Banyuwangi, Indonesia (Saturday, May 28, 2022) – The Quiksilver/ROXY Pro G-Land, Stop No. 6 on the World Surf League (WSL) 2022 Championship Tour (CT) and the first competition following the Mid-season Cut, kicked off its opening day in super clean, three-to-five foot waves at the ‘Money Trees’ section of G-Land, the world-class left-hand stretch of reef located on the eastern tip of Java. The competition ran the women’s and men’s Opening Rounds on a fairly level playing field as it was the first time the current CT surfers had ever competed in this location, except for the 11-time World Champion and 1995 event winner Kelly Slater (USA).

Rio Waida Upsets World No. 1 Filipe Toledo 
Current World No. 1 Filipe Toledo (BRA) had his opportunity to get one back on Indonesia’s Rio Waida (IDN) after he eliminated him early at the Corona Open Mexico at the end of the 2021 season when they matched up today in Heat 4 of the men’s Opening Round. Waida, who is fresh off a win at the recent GWM Sydney Surf Pro Challenger Series event, comes into his home event in serious form, which he continued today, taking down Toledo once again as well as fancied goofy-footer Nat Young (USA).

For highlights from today’s Quiksilver/ROXY Pro G-Land, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com.

Quiksilver Pro G-Land Opening Round Results:
HEAT 1: Ethan Ewing (AUS) 13.37 DEF. Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.67, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.33
HEAT 2: Jack Robinson (AUS) 11.54 DEF. Kelly Slater (USA) 8.34, Jackson Baker (AUS) 7.17
HEAT 3: John John Florence (HAW) 13.94 DEF. Yago Dora (BRA) 11.67, Kolohe Andino (USA) 7.00
HEAT 4: Rio Waida (IDN) 11.83 DEF. Nat Young (USA) 11.66, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 10.80
HEAT 5: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.16 DEF. Jake Marshall (USA) 9.67, Caio Ibelli (BRA) 6.53
HEAT 6: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 14.00 DEF. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 9.64, Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 8.46
HEAT 7: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 12.77 DEF. Barron Mamiya (HAW) 11.37, Connor O’Leary (AUS) 10.07
HEAT 8: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.70 DEF. Samuel Pupo (BRA) 8.20, Callum Robson (AUS) 6.14

Quiksilver Pro G-Land Elimination Round 2 Matchups:
HEAT 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Yago Dora (BRA)
HEAT 2: Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Matthew McGillivray (ZAF)
HEAT 3: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) vs. Jackson Baker (AUS)
HEAT 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Connor O’Leary (AUS)
HEAT 5: Barron Mamiya (HAW) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
HEAT 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Samuel Pupo (BRA)
HEAT 7: Callum Robson (AUS) vs. Jake Marshall (USA)
HEAT 8: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Nat Young (USA)